Time is money/Tiempo es dinero

I have arrived! My flights were smooth, I haven’t gotten sick, I like my host family…as we say in Ecuador: todo esta bien. This week we had orientation and some classes. We had to choose a track of studies that will help prepare us for related internships, and I chose “microfinanzas.”  In one general lecture today (called “choque de cultura” – culture shock), the speaker was explaining the way that Ecuadorians see time as a cycle, and not linear, as people do in the United States. We have schedules and deadlines and beginnings and endings.  Here in Ecuador, the buses come when they come. Instead of “time is money,” my professor says “tiempo es la vida.” Life is meant to be enjoyed, spent with loved ones, and lived. When we take “descansitos”- little breaks- between classes, we go outside for ten minutes…twenty…thirty. Just as we enjoy extending the breaks, we enjoy drawing out the conversations in class. We have played several games in which each student has to present something for the class. In the U.S., if student presentations are longer than the scheduled class time, everybody leaves and picks it up the next day.  The students revolve around the schedule, in other words. Aqui en Ecuador, the schedule revolves around the students.  Class ends when everyone has participated. This would not be possible in the United States. It is a completely different system.

Other examples of “different systems” are in public transportation and sanitation. Not only do the buses come at different times each hour and day, they also continue moving unless you forcefully flag them down. The drivers prefer passengers to dive onto the bus while it’s moving. When I get on the bus, it starts moving as soon as the last person getting on has one foot on the step. Then, each bus has a teenage boy or man who either walks down the bus aisle collecting the amount (typically a quarter), or takes it as you leave. He also serves as an incentive to move faster, heckling people who lag. As a side note, pedestrians do not have the right of way in Ecuador. I don’t know who does, though, because cars seem to join traffic when they please, suddenly careening in front of your car or bus.  Enough about that. The next biggest instigator of culture shock in Ecuador is the sanitation system, which must consist of very small pipes. Thus, toilet paper is placed in a small trash can next to the toilet, so that it doesn’t overflow. Always!

UNA NOTA PERSONAL

Although I want to keep this blog general, about Ecuador, I will include personal notes about my experiences and specific situation. To begin, I live with a wonderful 48-year-old woman named Marina (I call her Mami) and her two children Sebastion, 24, and Paula, 22. I will rarely see the kids because Sebas is an army pilot who only comes home on the weekends and Paula is a busy student writing her college thesis and we have different schedules. My Mom has a room with a door and four walls but no ceiling that houses several bird cages and plants. There are more than twenty parakeets en total and a parrot- “el loro”- that says “hola” and other less respectful things. There is also another roofless room with beautiful hanging and potted plants.  Our building has about three levels and we only live on one floor, but my house is considered one of the nicest. Each of us has our own room and we also have a big living room, small kitchen and two bathrooms. I will try to put up pictures soon. Early tomorrow morning, the students on my program are being treated to a mini-vacation. We will go hiking and swimming and stay at a hotel in a place called San Miguel de los Bancos. Ciao!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Time is money/Tiempo es dinero

  1. mcelliott

    !Que maravillosa! Espero que te diviertas mucho.

    Carino, Mamita

  2. Carmen Horstmann

    Glad you made it and are already busily involved. I guess I didn’t mention buses, etc. as I don’t remember riding them when in Ecuador! Private car and taxis were my transportation. It sounds like you hit the jackpot with the family. I did when I went to Spain with UC. Great experience! Will read your blog regularly. I guess you have been told about the gorgeous churches in the old part of Quito. Don’t miss La Compania and San Francisco – you will find they are as different as night and day from our churches in the US today.
    God bless you, Lots of love. Tia Carmen

  3. Carmen Horstmann

    I must have done something wrong and was asked to write a comment again. If you didn’t get the first one…Glad you made it in good shape and are already busily involved in classes and life in Ecuador. I didn’t mention transportation, etc. earlier but I don’t think I ever rode a bus – private cars and taxis were my mode of transportation. I also found many differences when I went with UC to Spain years ago. If we didn’t like a class, we would go to the Cueva (the basement area of the 11th century building) for tapas and vino! Will be waiting for your next postings. Hope I don’t get another ERROR message! Lots of love and may God bless you and keep you in his loving care. Tia Carmen

  4. Chris Marquis

    I laughed when I read this because I pictured you wildly flagging down the bus and then diving onto the bus, I chuckled for several moments.

  5. Mary S.

    Hi Kathryn, It’ll be fun to hear about your travels! God bless you!

  6. Melanie Kocon

    Thanks for sending us the link to this blog. How fun to hear about how you are doing! It sounds like you are “in the thick of it” and doing well. I pray many blessings on you as you make the cultural adjustment. You are so fortunate to have this experience!

    Looking forward to seeing pictures and hearing more about your experiences.

    God bless you,
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

